Meet three celebrated crime authors

Join our authors in a “gripping” discussion about their latest books and their approach to crime writing

7:30 Wednesday 4th November 2015

THE SHUT EYE

The Shut Eye 9780593072875Five footprints are the only sign that Daniel Buck was ever here.
And now they are all his mother has left.
Every day, Anna Buck guards the little prints in the cement. Polishing them to a shine. Keeping them safe. Spiralling towards insanity.
When a psychic offers hope, Anna grasps it. Who wouldn’t? Maybe he can tell her what happened to her son…
But is this man what he claims to be? Is he a visionary? A shut eye? Or a cruel fake, preying on the vulnerable?
Or is he something far, far worse?

‘The most polished crime writer on the murder beat . . . Exhausting, exhilarating and damn scary, another 24-carat creation from the Queen of Thrills’ – Daily Express

The Author / BELINDA BAUER

9780224027656Belinda Bauer grew up in England and South Africa and now lives in Wales. She worked as a journalist and a screenwriter before finally writing a book to appease her nagging mother. With her debut, Blacklands, Belinda was awarded the CWA Gold Dagger for Crime Novel of the Year. She went on to win the CWA Dagger in the Library for her body of work in 2013. Her fourth novel Rubbernecker was voted 2014 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her books have been translated into 21 languages

HIDDEN

Hidden 9781780892047A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson.
HE’S WATCHING
A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.
Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.
SHE’S WAITING
To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s recently been admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?
As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

The Author / EMMA KAVANAGH

Emma Kavanagh cropEmma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in Psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. She lives in South Wales with her husband and young sons.

WHAT REMAINS

What Remains 9780718181673The sixth book in the bestselling David Raker series.
Colm Healy used to be one of the Met’s best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his failure to find an elusive killer left his life in ruins.
Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession – and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective.
Their search takes them down a trail of darkness, unravelling a thread of tragedy, and forces them to sacrifice everything they have left.

The Author / TIM WEAVER

Tim Weaver cropTim Weaver is the bestselling author of Chasing the Dead, The Dead Tracks, Vanished, Richard and Judy Book Club selection Never Coming Back, which was also nominated for a National Book Award, and most recentlyFall From Grace. All his novels feature missing persons investigator David Raker. A former journalist and magazine editor, he lives near Bath with his wife and daughter.

This event is being organised in conjunction with Vale Courses Adult Learning

The dark arts – Crime Writers reveal secrets of their trade

The Cowbridge Book Festival’s Crime Night has always been a popular event with festival followers and this year was no exception! The guest authors were Belinda Bauer, Emma Kavanagh and Tim Weaver who presented the festival audience with a fascinating insight into the world they inhabit as crime writers.

From the moment Sally Perini introduced this highly articulate trio to their receptive audience we knew we were in for a treat. The discussion was well controlled by award winning author Belinda and it soon became obvious that they had already established a great rapport and that they were well prepared to present an informative and relevant look at the demands made of writers of all genres, not just crime! Whilst these three completely different authors agreed on many aspects of the writing process it soon became clear that when it comes to how they approach their research and building characters they are quite different. For instance, Emma sets great store by using spread sheets to create her characters and it would appear that Belinda and Tim spend a great deal of time people watching and listening – local people might like to note they met for coffee, in Costa, before coming to this event!!

An appreciative audience which included several reading groups engaged the writers in a lively Q and A session and were rewarded with frank and often humorous answers! After the discussion attendees had the opportunity to chat with the authors over a glass of wine while their books were signed.

Crime composite 3